Updating the Rosh Hashana Honey Cake

I’m not a huge fan of the honey cake. I’ve rarely tasted one that isn’t dry and sticks in the throat. The recipe that I have been using for honey cake all these years is “OK”, but not more. So of course it’s not one I was ever going to share on my blog – only the best for you!

So I decided it was time to update my recipe and give it a twist. Why not cupcakes? They’re so in fashion that a honey cake version almost demands being made this Rosh Hashana. So after a few less than successful attempts at adjusting my recipe and making it cupcake-friendly, I think I’ve done it! My loyal testers (my husband and kids) gave them a hearty thumbs up, and that’s all I needed to proceed to the next step – sharing the recipe on my blog.

This recipe is still based on the cake we used to eat at home, which my mother called “Ginger Cake” and not honey cake. The reason was that she flavored it liberally with ginger powder, which gave the cake a really fragrant spicy taste, which I love. This recipe is still heavy on the ginger because it just tastes good!

I made two different frostings to go with them, another update to the traditionally dry cake – one is a honey glaze and the other is a tofu cream cheese frosting (which is my favorite).

I have made these parev, but you can use butter instead of margarine for a slightly creamier flavor, and you can use regular cream cheese instead of the tofu version.

HONEY CUPCAKES WITH TWO FROSTINGS

Ingredients

2 eggs

2/3 cups sugar

½ cup margarine/butter

½ cup honey

1½ cups flour

1 teaspoon cinnamon powder

2 teaspoons ginger powder

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

Pinch of salt

How to do it

Honey Cupcakes with honey glaze and parev cream cheese frosting

1. Preheat the oven to 150°C (300°F)

2. Line two muffin tins with #5 size cupcake liners

3. Whisk the sugar and margarine in a mixer on high speed until creamy. Add the eggs and whisk for a few minutes until the mixture has lightened and has a fluffy consistency.

4. Add the honey and mix on medium speed to combine.

5. Add all the dry ingredients and mix on slow speed until just combined – resist the urge to eat all the batter…

6. Using a tablespoon, fill the cupcakes liners no more than halfway up – the batter rises quite high in the oven, but does drop afterwards.

7. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out of the center of a cupcake clean.

Makes about 22 cupcakes

Frostings

Honey Glaze

Mix together 8 tablespoons honey, 8 tablespoons icing sugar and ½ teaspoon vanilla. Slowly add hot water until you reach a runny consistency – the mixture will be slightly translucent.

Using a tablespoon, you can glaze the cupcakes when they are still warm, and they will absorb the glaze for a slightly sticky cupcake. You can also wait until they are cool to glaze.

Cream Cheese Frosting

Mix together 2/3 cup Tofutti cream cheese and 3 teaspoons of honey till smooth. Gradually add about 5-6 cups of icing sugar, until you reach a spreading consistency. Note: With the Tofutti cheese, you will always have a slightly runny consistency. If you use regular cream cheese, you will achieve a consistency that’s more stable and can easily be piped out of a bag if required. If you want to pipe the frosting, you will need a larger quantity of frosting.

Spread frosting on completely cooled cupcakes.

2 thoughts on “Updating the Rosh Hashana Honey Cake

  1. Okay, everyone, just follow the recipe as it is and use bees honey! I tried the silan (date honey) as I said I would and the flavor was fabulous (like gingerbread) but the cupcakes came out a very funky consistency…I forgot just how much of a science baking truly is!

Leave a Reply

