Hummus Chocolate Cake? Yes it is, and good for Pesach

A few months ago, I read a recipe for a flourless chocolate cake on the wonderful Seattle Foodshed blog. I bookmarked it, and decided that Pesach was the perfect time to try it out, as for kitniot eaters, it’s completely KFP and parev to boot. And who would have thought that a cake that’s Kosher for Pesach and made from hummus would originate in the US? So with a few days left of Pesach, I have to share this with you.

I just baked it, and it’s a hit. My kids piled into it, and were shocked when I revealed to them that it’s made with hummus beans instead of flour. My husband asked where the matbucha was…I will definitely make this cake again for Pesach. It turns out like a brownie cake, so you can also make it as bars, and serving it with ice cream would not be a tragedy. As I was writing this recipe, I realized I had forgotten to add the baking powder, but it came out fine!! So if you can’t find KFP baking powder, you can leave it out. Now I will have to bake this again to see what it turns out like WITH baking powder!

I will share this recipe with you here as well, but do visit the Seattle Foodshed blog, as there are also lots of good, healthy recipes there that are worth checking out, and the pictures are great.

HUMMUS CHOCOLATE CAKE FOR PESACH (KITNIYOT) 

Hummus Cake for Pesach

Ingredients 

1½ cups chocolate chips or 200g dark chocolate pieces

4 eggs

1 can chickpeas (garbanzo beans) drained

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

¾ cup sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

How to do it

1. Preheat the oven to 180°C (350°F)

2. In a food processor, mix the chick peas and eggs until smooth. Add the vanilla, sugar and baking powder (if you can’t find baking powder that’s KFP, leave it out) and pulse till combined

3. Melt the chocolate over boiling water (double boiler).  Add the melted chocolate to the cake mix and combine.

4. Line a 22cm (9 inch) baking tin with baking paper and grease. Pour the mixture into the tin and bake for 35-40 minutes.

4 thoughts on “Hummus Chocolate Cake? Yes it is, and good for Pesach

    • It’s my pleasure. I love your blog – everything is so healthy and authentic and just the kind of food I like to cook. In fact, I am trying out your crock pot Moroccan chicken for dinner tonight! It looks wonderful and all the ingredients are kosher for Passover, which is a plus.

Leave a Reply

