Recipes for Pesach – Part VI

My final post before I go off on vacation before the chag! I hope I’ve managed to give you an assortment of recipes that will add a little spice and variety to your Pesach menus. Here are a few more recipes for you, and with this, I will sign off until after Pesach. I wish you all a “pesach kasher ve’sameach” (a kosher and happy Passover), and I also wish you all easy cleaning and fun cooking. Don’t forget to put your feet up as well, because after you’ve made all the delicious food that will delight your family and friends, you will really deserve it.

Easy Roasted Onion and Lettuce Salad

Easy Roasted Red Onion and Lettuce Salad– When you’ve been toiling all day in the kitchen making all that seder food, the last thing you want to do is slave over a salad. How about this easy stand-by? You can roast the onions in advance, and throw it all together in minutes. You will want to double this recipe if you’re having a big crowd.

Quiche for Pesach– When I make this quiche during the year, I use a butter crust. For Pesach, here’s an alternative that is very delicious, but does require more work (which is why I don’t make it very often, but once a year, I will.) It’s from the wonderful Moosewood Cookbook, and stands the test of time. While the crust has to be completely different to be kosher for Pesach, the filling is virtually the same as usual, only using potato flour instead of regular flour. Seeing as you’ll be working a little harder on the crust, you may want to opt for one of the easier fillings…

Upside-Down Lemon Meringue Cake

Upside-Down Lemon Meringue Cake for Pesach– The first time I made this I was so excited because I saw that it could also work for Pesach with no adaptations and it can be made parev. This is one of my favorite desserts for any time of year, so being able to serve in at a Seder table is a huge bonus. Watch your guests gasp with delight when you bring this onto the table. It will give them the strength to make it to Chad Gadyah with ease.

Leave a Reply

