A Salad that’s a Keeper

I’m always on the lookout for new salads that are more exciting that the usual lettuce cucumber combo, but without too much work involved. I mean, let’s face it, by the time you’ve finished cooking your entire meal, you don’t have too much energy left for making salad. So I was delighted when an Asian slaw I recently tried out from Bill Granger’s beautiful “Bill’s Everyday Asian” recipe book (which has great recipes in it) ticked all the salad boxes for me. It didn’t take very long to make and it was so delicious that when I wanted a second helping, I was too late!

I didn’t have any fresh mint or red cabbage in the house when I made this, so I left them out out and increased the white cabbage quantity  Next time I will definitely add the mint, but I can honestly say that without it and the red cabbage, it was still wonderful. In fact, it was really the dressing that was the star here, with all the best in Asian ingredients turning this one into a keeper in my house.

ASIAN SLAW

Ingredients 

Asian Slaw

1 small red onion halved and very thinly sliced

500 g (1 lb) white cabbage thinly sliced

200 g (7 oz) red cabbage thinly sliced

2 peppers (yellow or red) thinly sliced

A handful of shredded fresh mint leaves

Dressing Ingredients

3 tablespoons red wine vinegar

3 tablespoons lemon juice

100 ml (3.4 fl oz) extra virgin olive oil

1 tablespoon sesame oil

4 tablespoons soy sauce

3 tablespoons brown sugar

1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger

2 crushed garlic cloves

4 tablespoons smooth peanut butter

How to do it

1. Place all the sliced vegetables in a large salad bowl.

2. Whisk all the dressing ingredients together well. Note: This makes a lot of dressing and I didn’t put it all on the salad, but I am very glad I have some left over to use again!

3. Toss the salad and allow to sit for about half an hour before serving.

3 thoughts on “A Salad that’s a Keeper

Leave a Reply

