Time for a Main Course – Curried Chicken in a Pot

I grew up in Cape Town, South Africa and this meant that one of the regular dishes on our table was curry. With a large population of Malaysian decent, curries are abundant in Cape Town, and I always have curry powder in my spice drawer and use it whenever I can.

Chicken curry and rice

Once I left South Africa, I encountered curries from other parts of the world, and of course, from India. One of the simplest chicken dishes I make is a classic Indian curry taught to me by the wonderful Telma from Mumbai. I have no idea what the history of this recipe is, all I know is that it’s a wonderful mild curry that’s unbelievably easy to make, tastes great and my kids love it. Need I say more.

I gave my son a plate of curry and rice and then I had to leave the house for a while. When I came back, I went to upload the pictures I'd taken in the kitchen and found that he had taken a picture of his very empty plate. I am taking it as proof of how much he enjoyed the curry.

When I first made this, I panicked a little when I put all the ingredients into the pot and saw that there was no liquid. Not to worry – the tomatoes melt in the pot and become the liquid in which the chicken cooks.

So with no further ado…

CURRIED CHICKEN IN A POT

Ingredients 

1 chicken cut into pieces (my family only likes dark meat, so I just get 2kg/5lb thighs, legs and wings)

3 onions sliced

5-6 cloves of garlic crushed

Fresh ginger (a piece about 3 cm/1 inch long) peeled and chopped as finely as you can

5-6 large ripe tomatoes (peeled if desired) roughly chopped (do NOT de-seed the tomatoes – you’ll need all the liquid of the tomatoes for the sauce)

A large handful of fresh chopped coriander

1 teaspoon of salt

Juice of half a small lemon

1 teaspoon curry spice (any will do)

Half a green chili pepper chopped (optional, if you want the curry to have a little heat)

5-6 potatoes cut into bite-sized pieces

How to do it

1. Add all ingredients to a large pot and cover and bring to the boil

All the in the pot before cooking

2. Turn down the flame and simmer for an hour or until the meat from the leg starts falling off, stirring occasionally .

Serve with rice

2 thoughts on “Time for a Main Course – Curried Chicken in a Pot

  1. I’m planning on making this tomorrow night and want to know if you have tried this in a crockpot, and if so for how long and at what setting?

    • I haven’t made this in a crock pot because I generally find that chicken pieces in a crock pot fall apart and the whole dish gets a little too messy for my liking. But if you want to do it, I would try about 6 hours on low or 3 hours on high. But this is only based on other dishes I’ve done in the CP, so there’s no guarantee attached to this recommendation 🙂

Leave a Reply

