Quickest (parev) cake ever

I keep hearing my friend Sara in the back of my mind saying “post recipes using less than two pots, less than 15 minutes of prep…” Seeing as I have yet to post a dessert recipe this week, and at the same time I am haunted by Sara’s request for quick recipes, I think it’s time for the ultimate in very quick, very easy, very parev and most importantly, very delicious cakes.

This is a recipe that oddly enough comes from a book filled with the most complicated dessert recipes that use millions of eggs and tons of butter and even reading them makes your arteries feel clogged. In the midst of these insane recipes is this gem. Here are its advantages: It really does take about 5 minutes to prepare and then 20-25 minutes to bake, so in a total of 30 minutes you have a baked cake; its parev; it doesn’t require eggs; you don’t need to use an electric mixer; it comes out really moist; and did I mention it takes no time to prepare?

These quantities are for a medium-size cake, but I have doubled and even tripled this depending on the need – a birthday cake for the whole class needs a triple recipe.

QUICKEST PAREV CHOCOLATE CAKE EVER 

Cupcakes made from this mixture

Ingredients

1 cup sugar

1½ cups all purpose flour

3 tablespoons cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

⅓ cup oil

1 tablespoon vinegar (yes indeed!)

1 ½ teaspoons vanilla

1 cup cold water

How to do it

1. Preheat oven to 180°c, grease a 24 cm dish

2. Mix all dry ingredients together in a bowl (no mixer required)

3. Add all liquids and mix together till combined

4. Pour into prepared dish or you can make them as cupcakes.

5. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean or for cupcakes, bake for 15-18 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

You can top this cake with a chocolate glaze – 150g parev chocolate melted into 100ml non-diary cream.

As a cupcake and decorated with cream cheese frosting (dairy), but you can substitute the cream cheese with whipped non-dairy cream and add powdered sugar until you have a spreading or piping consistency, and hey presto!

5 thoughts on “Quickest (parev) cake ever

  1. Both quick and pareve! And since you’re posting it, I am confident it is delicious too. Big points for this one Margo. Trying it out promptly and will report back. Thanks!

  2. Margo, your friend Sara is my kind of girl. Less is more is definitely my motto in the kitchen. I challenge my creations to one pot and one utensil to cook with and boy I have a collection. Yummy corn soup in 10 minutes, and even Jerusalem kugel fits my style. Going to try this cake, but if you need another, let me know – I have a one-potter I make with real chocolate.
    Btw love your new blogging.

      • Margo, I love your blogging. Don’t be alarmed, but my 10 minute description is actually 10 minutes of prep time. What’s the secret, Jerusalem kugels speciality is the caramelized sugar, I get a quick start by using brown sugar and use leftover spagetti already cooked. Here’s how I do it.
        In a pot, I boil up about a 1/4 cup of water with about a cup and 1/2 of brown sugar, about a teaspoon of salt and LOTS of ground black pepper. Just as the sugar has meld I add about 2/3 cup of canola oil and then thow in my spagetti. I mix it all up gently just spreading the sugar. Because I use leftover spagetti that generally is cold, I then mix in 3 eggs without worrying about instant scrambled egg in the mixture. Once the eggs are mixed in transfer to a baking dish and bake for about 1 1/2 hours on a 180 medium heat until bronzed brown. Enjoy. My Oren loves his spagetti cake!!

      • I am DEFINITELY going to try this out. I love Jerusalem Kugel but I haven’t yet found a recipe that I like. Thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

