When it’s raining, all I think about is soup (carrot)

The rain is coming down, and I am very thankful for that. Who among us doesn’t think soup when the rain is falling? I certainly do.

My carrot soup is a very old favorite. This recipe, from the “From Hatikvah’s Kitchen” cookbook, published in 1984 by the “Ladies of the Hatikvah Branch of the Bnoth Zion in Cape Town, has stood the test of time, and doesn’t cease to get compliments. In fact, one year when we were living in Jerusalem, we hosted Kelley Nassief, a competitor in the 1996 Leonard Bernstein Jerusalem International Oratorio and Song Competition, for dinner the day before the final round. I made this soup, and she absolutely loved it. The next day she won the competition. I called her to congratulate her, and the first thing she said was that that my soup inspired her to win! I don’t think I have every received such a unique compliment for anything I have every cooked.

So here’s the recipe that will put a top C in your voice. What I really like about this recipe is that there’s no cream in it so it’s not very high in calories and can be made parev by using oil instead of butter for sauteeing the carrots and onions.

CARROT SOUP  

Carrot Soup

Ingredients

500 g sliced carrots

2 tablespoons butter or oil

1 chopped onion

1 tablespoon chicken soup powder (I always use the parev one) dissolved in 1 liter (4 cups) of hot water

1 teaspoon sugar

2 tablespoons fresh chopped parsely

Salt and pepper to taste

1/4 teaspoon of curry powder (optional)

How to do it

1. In a medium sized pot, saute carrots and onions in butter/oil on medium heat for about 10 minutes

2. Add the chicken broth, seasoning, sugar and parsley to the pot and bring to the boil. Turn down the heat and let it simmer for about 20 minutes or until the carrot are very soft.

3. Liquidize till smooth. (I use a hand held liquidizer, one of my favorite gadgets that saves you from the hassle of pouring the hot soup into a regular liquidizer.)

Serves 5. I usually double this recipe because second are always required.

Note: You can add other vegetables – butternut squash, pumpkin, zucchini – just follow the same recipe and keep the same proportions of vegetables to liquid.

2 thoughts on “When it’s raining, all I think about is soup (carrot)

Leave a Reply

