It’s Thursday: What are you making for Shabbat dinner?

Last night a saw my friend Sara and introduced her to my blog. She looked at it and then looked me in the eye and said: “I want to see a section with meals made in less than 2 pots and taking less than 15 minutes to prepare.”

Oy vey, was my first thought. I love to cook so I am happy to “patchke” in the kitchen when I am preparing a meal. So she really challenged me with this. So while I am probably not going to devote an entire drop-down to “the 15-minute meal” (What does she think? I’m Rachel Ray?!), I will post my one of quickest chicken recipes here.

No pots involved, but it does need one large bowl for marinading and one roasting pan for cooking. OK, Sara?

This is a chicken dish that my kids love because its sweet and sticky and the gravy goes really well on rice or mashed potatoes. It also takes minutes to prepare.

EASY BARBECUE CHICKEN

Ingredients

One large chicken cut into pieces (I always ask the butcher to cut the breasts in half)

200g tomato paste

1/4 cup of HP sauce (or any other BBQ sauce)

1/4 cup of sweet chili sauce

1/4 cup of soy sauce

1-2 cloves of garlic, crushed

2-3 tablespoons brown sugar

How to do it

Mix the marinade ingredients together and add the chicken pieces. Let the chicken sit in the marinade for at least 2 hours, but 8-10 hours is better or even overnight.

Place chicken and sauce in a roasting pan and cover with foil. (Spray the inside of the pan with non-stick spray)

In a pre-heated 200°C (400°F) oven, bake the chicken for 1/2 an hour.

Reduce the heat to 190°C (375°F) and remove the foil. Bake for another 20 minutes. Then check the breasts to see if they are cooked through (I just jab a fork into the breast meat to see if it’s cooked). If it’s done, remove it and set aside.  Cook the dark meat parts for another 20-30 minutes, basting every now and again and turning the pieces so they are evening browned. The chicken is cooked when the meat starts to come away from the leg bone.

Serve with mashed potatoes or rice.

7 thoughts on “It’s Thursday: What are you making for Shabbat dinner?

  1. Margo, I knew you would be up to the challenge! Although I must admit I am pleasantly shocked by your almost-instantaneous response time! Quick BBQ Chicken is officially on our menu for Friday night. Thanks!!! Sara

  2. So now I know what to make for Shabat. Thank you.
    So far, I have made your carrot cake, (came out really moist).
    Your chicken (turkey, but I used chicken bones) soup. I don’t know yet how it is because I have not tasted it yet, but I am looking forward to it.
    We have already finished a batch of delicious Thanksgiving cookies.
    Now I am going to make Your Bar b q chicken.
    What are we making next week so I know what ingredients to shop for…..!
    Thanks for your posts. They are great.
    Ann

    • Clearly I will have to work very quickly to keep up with you, Ann! How about we keep next week a surprise for now? Keep cooking!

  3. I thought I’d share this incredible soup I made last Shabbat. Everybody (even the fussiest!) thought it was absolutely delicious – and it was.
    For once, i followed the ingredients exactly and doubled the recipe to accommodate my crowd. I only left off the garnish, and sprinkled with parsely flakes instead.

    With credit to http://www.about.com:

    This soup is my “crowd pleaser”; be prepared to tell your guests the ingredients as they were surely ask for the recipe! It is also extremely versatile; feel free to add any fresh herbs that you have on hand, substitute the apples for pears, or use coconut milk instead of soymilk if you desire. This soup is also great for kids: both warm and sweet but mild enough for young palates.

    Serves 4 ( I doubled this)

    Prep Time: 20 minutes

    Cook Time: 50 minutes

    Total Time: 70 minutes

    Ingredients:

    1 large white onion, chopped
    4 stalks of celery, chopped
    1 lb carrots, peeled and chopped
    1 cup chopped apples
    1 T. minced fresh ginger
    2 T. honey
    1 ½ cups plain unsweetened soymilk
    2 t. salt
    Cayenne pepper, for garnish
    Chopped scallions, for garnish
    Preparation:

    1. In a 3-quart (or larger) stockpot over medium-high heat, heat 1.5 quarts of water with the onion and celery. Bring to a boil and add the carrots. Simmer for 15 minutes, or until carrots are tender. Add the apples and ginger. Simmer for 20 minutes more.

    2. Working in batches, blend the soup starting at the lowest speed and working up until the highest speed until the soup is creamy. Return the soup to the pot and stir in the honey, soymilk and salt. Cook over low heat for 5-10 minutes or until soup reaches desired temperature and consistency, stirring occasionally and adding water if necessary.

    3. Serve hot, garnishing with cayenne pepper and scallions if desired.

Leave a Reply

