The Famous Orange Noodles

When I first met my husband, he told me all about his late grandmother’s famous Orange Noodles. They were casserole of baked noodles, grated cheddar cheese and a can of Campbell’s tomato soup. On a trip to visit his sister in Canada, I finally got to taste the famous Orange Noodles. They were very yummy. But the snag was that you can’t get Campbell’s canned soup anywhere in Israel. So I had to wing it and come up with my own version. One or two attempts later, and I had created my own version of the famous Sugarman Orange Noodles. Basically, it tastes like tomato-flavored macaroni and cheese, but without the chemicals.

Everyone who tastes them loves them, even my eldest son, who doesn’t eat anything (really). As a result, this recipe has served my family for years as a great standby dish when we don’t have guests. I once made it for guests as we were having brunch and I served it for “the kids”. The adults climbed in, and since then it’s been in demand outside of my house as well.

My son Hadar was very concerned when I told him that I was posting this recipe. “It’s your signature dish,” he said. “Everyone will steal it if you post it.” I’m not worried. The more the merrier.

Here’s how we do it in the Sugarman household in Israel.

ORANGE NOODLES

Ingredients

(8 servings)

500 g noodles (preferably macaroni noodles, but small elbow noodles or small penne work just fine too)

2 cups milk + 1/4 cup (don’t use low fat)

100g tomato paste

1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

2 tablespoons corn flour

About 2 cups of grated cheddar cheese (adjust according to your personal taste)

2-3 cups of Kellogs cornflakes (Telma cornflakes are too sweet for this dish)

1-2 tablespoons of cooking oil

How to do it

1. Preheat the oven to 160°C (320°F)

2. Spray a lasagna pan with non-stick spray

3. In a large pasta pot, cook the noodles according to the directions on the bag

4. In a medium-sized saucepan, heat the milk and add the tomato paste and spices over high heat.

5. Dissolve the corn flour in the 1/4 cup of milk, stirring until there are no lumps

6. As the milk mixture in the saucepan comes to the boil, add the cornflour mixture while stirring. Bring to the boil (it will thicken) and turn the flame down to low and add the grated cheese, stirring until you get a smooth sauce and turn off the flame.

Making the sauce - it's not really orange because there are no artificial colors in this version of the recipe.

7. Drain the noodles and mix the cheesy sauce into the pot.

8. Crush the cornflakes in a bowl (make sure all the large pieces are broken up) and add the oil, stirring so all the cornflakes are coated.

9. Pour the noodles into the greased dish and sprinkle the cornflakes evenly over the top, covering the whole surface of the dish.

10. Bake for about 25 minutes or until the top begins to turn golden brown.

Crush the corn flakes with a plastic jar - Skippy always works for me

3 thoughts on “The Famous Orange Noodles

  1. Margo, this sounds amazing! I live in Canada and have tons of Campbells Tomato Soup on hand. Any chance I can get the Canadian version of the recipe?
    Looking forward to trying it and reading more of your blog!

Leave a Reply

