Posting as quick as I can – Time for Chicken

I’m at the stage of creating this blog where I am trying to work as fast as I can on populating as many parts of my recipe section as possible. It will take some time but I am trying my best to evenly fill the gaps. This involves my beg, borrow and steal approach. Today I am stealing a wonderful recipe from my friend Lianne, who passed this on to me after I had eaten it at her house. It was so delicious that I refused to leave without the recipe in my hand. This has now become a regular chicken dish I serve when I have visitors and want something that both adults and children enjoy. Thanks Lianne!

The recipe pays homage to my South African roots as it relies heavily on the flavors of the chutney and the apricots. While in the past, finding chutney in Israel wasn’t easy, and I used to rely on the kindness of visitors from South Africa who would be willing to smuggle glass bottles of Mrs. Ball’s Chutney in their suitcases, risking possible breakage and disaster on the way, today, most delis in Israel carry chutney today. Of course I recommend the South African brands – Mrs. Ball’s or Wellington, but any chutney will do for this recipe. In other countries, this should be less of a problem.

Serve this over rice – the gravy is delicious.

CHICKEN WITH CHUTNEY

This recipe works for the equivalent of 2 cut up chickens.

Ingredients

For the marinade, mix together:

1 teaspoon paprika

1 teaspoon dried parsley

1 teaspoon chicken or meat spice

Juice of half a lemon

Salt and pepper

1/4  teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 cup oil

1 cup spicy chutney

1 one large can of apricots including the juice (I mash the some of the apricots with a potato masher)

1/2 cup mayonnaise (I use low fat)

20 peeled baby onions (or 4 onions cut up in quarters)

2 peppers chopped up (any colors you like)

2 small containers of fresh mushrooms washed and stemmed

How to do it

1.   Marinade the chicken pieces in the sauce and leave for a few hours (overnight if possible but not essential)

2.   In a large pan or wok, wry onions and pepper until slightly soft, and add the mushrooms for another minute.

3.   Mix the vegetables into the chicken in the sauce. Place in a large over-proof dish and cover with foil

4.   Bake at 200°C (400°F) for half and hour

5.   Uncover and lower the heat to 190°C (375°F) and bake for about one hour, or till chicken is ready (starts to come off the bone), basting about every 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

