Recipes with Friends

Roasted kohlrabi, beets and fennel
Roasted kohlrabi, beets and fennel

Roasted kohlrabi, beets and fennel

I love getting tips and new ideas from my friends. I also love brainstorming with them to come up with new ideas. Both of these happened to be when I was on a recent visit to Cape Town. At a glorious BBQ at her home, my friend Marianna introduced me to a new idea for serving kohlrabi. A relatively common vegetable in Israel, it’s less known in other countries. I first met this hard root veggie when I moved to Israel. It’s always served raw and in salads – I don’t love it as I think it’s rather bland. Marianna shook things up by roasting it, and it was sensational. A few nights later, I was treated to another wonderful meal at my friend Adrienne who roasted beets and fennel together. That too was a great combo. Then the topic of roasted kohlrabi came up, and hey presto, the two of us figured that throwing all three into the roasting pan had to be a good idea. It was!

I now have a new favorite roasted veggie combo that taste amazing, is really easy to prepare, and the best part is that whenever I make it, I’ll think about Marianna and Adrienne. Food and friends are really the best combination. Thanks ladies – this one’s for you.

ROASTED KOHLRABI, BEETS AND FENNEL

Ingredients

Kohrabi, beets and fennel

Kohrabi, beets and fennel

1-2 large fennel bulbs

2 large beets

3 kohlrabis

1-2 heads of garlic (optional)

2 tablespoons olive oil

Coarse salt

2-3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar (for serving)

How to do it

1. Preheat the oven to 200°C (400°F)

2. Line a large roasting pan with baking paper and grease it with some of the olive oil.

3. Fennel – slice off the base of the fennel, and tops and peel the outer layer. Chop into large bit size chunks.

4. Kohlrabi – peel the kohlrabi and cut them into large bite size chunks.

5. Beets – peel the beets and cut them into bite size chunks that are smaller than the kohlrabi and the fennel as the beets take a little longer to cook.

6. Place all the veggies in the baking dish, including the whole heads of garlic, sprinkle with salt and the remaining olive oil and toss to coat all the veggies in oil. Bake in the middle of the oven for 35-40 minutes or until a fork smoothly enters a piece of beet.

7. Remove from the oven and allow to cool. Squeeze the garlic out of the peels into the veggies (if using), sprinkle with Balsamic vinegar, toss around and serve at room temperature or warm.

Serves about 6 people.

Leave a Reply

