Brynn’s East Meets East Noodle Salad

East Meets East Noodle Salad

This past Shabbat, I ate the most delicious Asian-style noodle salad I’ve eaten in a long time. My sister-in-law Brynn had added her own twist to an Asian recipe by adding, of all things, tehina, to the sauce. It’s a combination that really works and gives the salad a wonderful depth. I suppose if you don’t want to use the tehina or can’t be bothered to make it, then you can use about 4 tablespoons of peanut butter instead. But I highly recommend this version, which I have dubbed East Meets East Noodle Salad, as it brings together ingredients from the Far and Middle East into one dish.

I am so glad that Brynn agreed to share this recipe with all of us! It will certainly become a regular on my table and I’m sure it will on yours too. It works beautifully as a first course as well as a side dish. And the tehina raises the nutrition bar on this dish. It’s also easy to remember as you’ll see by the quantities.

Thanks Brynn!

EAST MEETS EAST NOODLE SALAD 

Ingredients 

East Meets East Noodle Salad

500 g (1 lb) spaghetti (I recommend #3 but use what you prefer)

Dressing

6 tablespoons vegetable oil

6 tablespoons soy sauce

6 tablespoons white, apple, or rice vinegar

6 tablespoons white sugar

2 tablespoons sesame oil

A splash of chili oil

Tehina

1 cup of raw tehina (sesame paste)

About ¾ cup water

2 large crushed garlic cloves

salt and pepper to taste

About 2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice

Spring onion or toasted sesame seeds to garnish.

How to do it

1. Cook the spaghetti according to the instructions, till al dente

2. Mix all the dressing ingredients together in a jar

3. Prepare the tehina (do not add parsley)

4. Mix the dressing, tehina and spaghetti together.

5. Garnish with chopped spring onions, or roasted sesame seeds or both!

Serve cold or room temperature.

One thought on “Brynn’s East Meets East Noodle Salad

  1. Thanks Margo for publishing this: I’m flattered! Since I was 18 and first tasted sesame paste in NYC’s China Town (at a now extinct restaurant named Hunan House,) I’d wanted to recapture the taste, and I do believe this does it! WOW! Love the name: truly a East meets East marriage.
    Enjoy, everyone!

    Brynn

Leave a Reply

